Who had given “BID ADIEU” to whom?? ( Ranganathan sir)

We each one of us, if we get hardly 10 to 15 times of “eureka” moments or “Nobel moments” or “Oscar moments” in our entire life, it means we have LIVED our life meaningful or justified our “living” in this planet.

One of those moments, i have come across this morning,
when I had participated in the “Bid Adieu” to my 7th standard school and English tuition teacher, of Mr. Ranganathan, 85 years, Retired Head Master, Needamangalam LVS School.

*The purpose of this post is, creating similar such moments to all the readers of this post in their life and nothing more.*

*Most of the time, we withhold certain expressions/emotions*,

*(1) either because of shying nature of ourselves*

*(2) or the shying nature of receiver*

*(3) or the fear of criticisms thrown at us such as “film, scene, showy, pretend, fake, etc.”*

This morning incident was one of those moments, and I feel proud of crossed the above 3 barriers mentioned.

When I had entered a flat, where my sir’s body was kept, his last son who has been 5/6 years younger to me, who was sitting on head side of the body smiled at me and in a feeble tone, he inquired me, “You are Ramu Anna???”.

I said yes and moved away to his mom and his sister. He came near to me and handed over a A4 sheet which has been folded in to 4 times, partly mutilated and told me, “Dad used to see this paper very often and had shown it to all his visitors.”

I was perplexed about why he had handed over to me and finally reached the “NOBEL” moments of my life, because that letter, I handed over to my sir as a GIFT when I had visited him during 2014 after a 35 years long gap and sought blessings from him.

During 2014, when I had visited him, I contemplated myself what kind of gift I could offer to 80 years old teacher and concluded myself of following annexure of this post.

When we were going for English tuition during 1980s, he used to give us list of 100 verbs and our everyday first 10 minutes tuition assignment used to be ” forming sentences by using one verb per day with the combination of all ACTIVE voice and corresponding PASSIVE voice for those each verbs everyday.”

When i had met him during 2014, I had submitted the *hand written* same 10 minutes assignment to him.

Even my daughter and my wife were laughed at me for this funny gift, i too laughed and forgotten it.

When his son handed over the same and expressed with tears trickling on his eyes, how his dad cherished my assignment as one of his valuabke possessions for last 5 years brought tears in my eyes too.

After seeing his son’s gesture of GRATITUDE towards me, I got perplexed myself as,

*”My sir has given me a Bid Adieu to me and not the other way round.”*

Again my sir’s “Bid Adieu” to me is far greater than my “Bid Adieu” to him.

Bid Adieuingly yours,
🙏Ramu🙏

Leave a comment